PDF _ RS20158 - National Park System: Establishing New Units
22-Jul-2010; Carol Hardy Vincent; 10 p.

Update: Previous releases:
June 10, 2008
September 28, 2006


Abstract: The National Park System includes 392 diverse units administered by the National Park Service (NPS) of the Department of the Interior. Units generally are added to the National Park System by act of Congress, although the President may proclaim national monuments on land that is federally managed for inclusion in the System. Before enacting a law to add a unit, Congress might first enact a law requiring the NPS to study an area, typically to assess its national significance, suitability and feasibility, and other management options. Important areas also are preserved outside the National Park System through programs managed or supported by the NPS. This report will be updated if the processes, criteria, and issues change.

 [read report]

Topics: Public Lands, Natural Resources, Federal Agencies

Start Over